Patternmaking for Menswear

IMG_4582

I have other books on pattern making for womenswear but for this project I needed one for menswear too. What I was looking for was book that was fairly new and that ruled out the Swedish one I know about. I wanted it to have instructions for fitting adjustments and on how to make tight fitting menswear. This one, Patternmaking for Menswear by Myoungok Kim and Injoo Kim seemed to have what I wanted. I don’t like the books I own that much an had low expectations when buying this.

I have drafted two slopers, the instructions are easy to follow and makes sense after going through the process more than once. There are slim-fit and classic-fit adjustments to chose from when making actual patterns and a lot of instructions for details.

IMG_4583

IMG_4584

The illustrations are clear and modern. I like that there is a lot of styles to choose from and that in the end of each chapter are illustrations for design variations that can be made by combining details from different instructions.

I like it already and have taken the measurements of three different people to work with so far.


Leave a comment